jump to navigation

The Undomestic Goddess March 2, 2008

Posted by carambs in Books.
trackback

I wanted to read a light book last week.   I searched my shelf for something I haven’t read yet and came across “The Undomestic Goddess”, written by Sophie Kinsella, author of the famous “Confessions of a Shopaholic” series.

It’s a brainless book, one that you should read when your objective is not at all to learn or be enlightened.  The plot is somewhat impossible – a fantastic lawyer ending up being a housekeeper after she supposedly makes a mistake.   But still I found myself turning the pages, wanting to know what will happen to Samantha’s lovelife.  I guess that’s what I’m really after with chick lit books – sometimes I just want to forget about what’s happening around us (yes, the government sucks).  Isn’t it great that we have these silly books and movies to help us escape even just for a few hours?   C’mon, just give me these couple of hours, before I go back to reality and find out about the latest government fuck-ups.

Comments»

1. Jennina - March 2, 2008

i love sophie kinsella, i love this book, and i love chick lit. hahaha, brainless!!!! what a description 🙂

but then again, we have different objectives when we read books .. and when i do, it’s usually to make me happy and entertained. 🙂

2. carambs - March 3, 2008

I’m reading “Straight Talking” by Jane Green right now. 🙂 She’s the author or Jemima J, one of the chick lit books I really like. If I have to choose a favorite chick lit author, it would be Helen Fielding. I find Bridget Jones (the first one) really interesting and absolutely enjoyed Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination. 🙂

My different objectives in reading: 1) to be entertained hence the chick lit, Harry Potter and Dan Brown books, 2) to gain knowledge hence the business books and CS Lewis books, and 3) to grow or be enlightened hence the Robert Fulghum and CS Lewis books. 🙂

3. Jennina - March 3, 2008

i dont have straight talking, but i have “bookends”. i bought it more than a year ago, and until now its still gathering dust on my shelf waiting to be opened 😛

4. carambs - March 3, 2008

I’m trying to figure out if I have that already. I buy my books from http://www.avalon.ph – second hand books at great great prices. Try to get a copy of Jemima J. 🙂

5. sushi - March 3, 2008

see, that’s why i shy away from the news hehe…same old shit…
i love light reads and the shopaholic series, if i may say so, are the easiest to read. can’t say i totally loved it though.
i prefere cecelia ahern over sophie kinsella. her characters are less irresponsible and clueless hehe 🙂

6. carambs - March 3, 2008

Sige I will look for her books. 🙂 I hope Avalon has some.


Leave a comment